Skip to content

The Tie that Binds Us

October 29, 2011

Yes, this is a photo of my boot…and the figure-8 knot is securing me to my rope team. It is amazing what you can snap at 13,000+ feet on the side of Mt. Rainier. This is the last of the five Climb to Fight Breast Cancer trips I participated in this summer. It probably won’t surprise members of my rope team that I paused for this photo. In fact, they know me well enough to yell “no photos,” when we are moving through difficult sections of a climb. (Editor’s note – it was me shouting “no photos” to photographer extraordinaire Colin Stapp…).

But really, how could I resist? Plus, I was stopped for an instant as our team was crossing a crevasse.  

Here is the crevasse we crossed, one of many during the course of the afternoon.  The next one had an aluminum extension ladder for us to tread on. Notice there are no images of that one.

This is a keyhole glimpse of what it is like on the back of a rope team.  I had the privilege of documenting climbs on Mt. Shasta, Mt. Hood, Mt. Adams, Mt Baker and Mt Rainier. It was an amazing experience that took me across crevasses, through a blizzard, and up thousands of feet in elevation. Most of all, it put me in contact with an incredible group of people.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2011 10:09 pm

    I’m not sure people actually believe me when I tell them about the ladder crossing. Or they think I’m out of my mind for having let a complete stranger lead me through such a dangerous situation (even if they are a professional guide). But, I guess that’s the tie that binds us.

Leave a Reply

