Skip to content

The power of your heart

May 15, 2010
by
Sunrise from Mt. Rainier

Sunrise from Mt. Rainier

“The power of your heart”… the theme phrase of a song on the radio as I drove home after running around Greenlake and then running up and down those darn stairs at the Amphitheatre. It seemed so appropriate … it was the power of my heart that kept me from stopping at times, it was the power of my heart that kept me going up and down those darn stairs TEN times, it was the power of my heart that encouraged me to sign up for the 2010 Climb to Fight Breast Cancer on Mt. Shasta (May 21-23, 2010.)

Climbing Mt. Rainier

Climbing Mt. Rainier

When someone is diagnosed with cancer, any kind, it can be a lonely, scary, overwhelming time. The worst thing that people can do is to suddenly disappear with the sole reason being: They don’t know what to do or say to their friend or family member. My cousin was visiting me not too long ago and had a friend in the area that was undergoing chemotherapy for a rare type of cancer. I encouraged her to call her, and she said “I don’t know what to say.”  I told her, to say just that … you DON’T know what to say. She called her and said it was the best thing she could have done. Correct.

Summit on Mt. Rainier

Summit on Mt. Rainier

Another way to help those fighting for their lives is to raise money for research. It is only through research that new drugs will be discovered, better ways to detect cancer will be found along with improved ways to treat it. Research requires money and money is in short supply. Fundraising can be your contribution to your friend, your mom, your dad, perhaps your own life. Sign up for the 2010 or 2011 Climb to Fight Breast Cancer. We’ll teach you how to climb, but it’s the power of your heart that will create your own success to the summit of that mountain!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

