Skip to content

Climber Testimonial: Karen Kilian

March 26, 2010
by

 

Karen Kilian

Karen Kilian

Nurse, Caregiver, Daughter, Cousin, Friend, Skier and now… Mountain Climber

Climbing a mountain is very similar to those fighting cancer.  It takes a team approach, it takes a lot of strength, and it takes a lot of hope, with the goal of attaining the summit of something so huge and daunting at times… one has wonder, will I make it? The cancer patient’s summit is hearing they are in remission – NED:  no evidence of disease.  Something a lot of people are hoping, praying, wishing to hear from their oncologist.  Something so huge and daunting at times, they wonder, will I make it?

In 1992, my cousin died at age 33 from breast cancer, leaving behind her husband and three young children. Ten years later in 2002, I climbed Mt Baker in her memory with the Climb to Fight Breast Cancer.  I raised $6,900 for cutting edge research. In 2004, I climbed again, this time Mt. Rainier, for all the people at work as well as friends who had since been diagnosed with breast cancer. I raised $7,930. In 1996, my good friend, Joanie, was diagnosed with breast cancer, something she continues to fight today. In 2008, I climbed the Volcanoes of Mexico and dedicated that climb to Joanie, raising over $12,400.  My total fundraising from all 3 climbs was over $27,000.

Prayer Flags

Prayer Flags

The Climb to Fight Breast Cancer will help attain the goal of NED by raising funds to support breast cancer research. Come join the Climb to Fight Breast Cancer, raise money for a world class research center, help someone you know, and then you can say the words: I will make it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Just Bob permalink
    March 26, 2010 4:19 am

    Great Job !

    I had a friend die of stomach cancer just yesterday after a long fight. Your story has provided me a thought to dedicate my Aconcagua climb in January to his memory.

    Thanks for the story. (Some how I believe I was driven to this online site by someone not living on this earth !)

    Bob from L.A.

    • March 29, 2010 3:58 am

      Hi “Just Bob”:…..somethings happen for a reason, and somethings happen for reasons we don’t understand. GO FOR IT with your Aconcagua climb….a mountain I have wanted to climb too…..It is a most amazing journey to climb for someone other than yourself, and a journey that you will remember for the rest of your life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

