Skip to content

Welcome to the 2010 Climb to Fight Breast Cancer’s® blog

January 26, 2010

Welcome!  So far, over 65 climbers have signed up to scale the most beautiful peaks in the Pacific Northwest, California, Africa, Russia and Mexico in 2010.  Together they will raise thousands of dollars for cutting edge breast cancer research at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

Mt. Baker

Mt. Baker

I signed up on a crazy whim to climb Mt. Baker (my first mountain!) in 2002.  We promptly realized we had picked the worst weekend of the entire year to attempt Mt. Baker as the Pacific Northwest experienced record rainfall.  We spent hour after hour in our tents while the guides generously cooked for us and provided bottomless hot drinks.  We didn’t summit that day, but you’d never have known it by the joy we all felt as we made it back to the parking lot.  In fact, almost every member of my team went back and summited Mt. Baker the following summer as a participant in the Climb to Fight Breast Cancer.

I’ve gone on to climb Mt. Baker many times and it remains a favorite for me because it was my introduction to the Climb to Fight Breast Cancer.  That rainy climb in the tent changed my life.  I was with a team of people whose bigger goal was funding research.  We were attempting two summits that day, and only one of them remained elusive.  My luck has changed too as I was so enthusiastic about my experience that I’ve gone on to summit most of our peaks over the last few years.  I can’t wait to tackle Mt. Shasta this summer with so many of you.

Lynn Lippert

Lynn Lippert, Climb to Fight Breast Cancer climber and breast cancer survivor.

Whether you are a skilled climber, or never yet hiked, I hope you will join us as we strive to eliminate cancer as a cause of death and human suffering.  I dedicate my climb to Lynn Lippert, a breast cancer survivor and frequent participant in the Climb to Fight Breast Cancer. She is my inspiration this year.  (Read more about Lynn on our Climb to Fight Breast Cancer website, as well as recently in Quest magazine and “Petri Dish” blog.) I will fundraise and climb so people just like Lynn have a chance to beat cancer and reach their dreams.

Please join us for this exciting adventure. Climbs begin in May and wrap up in October.  You can sign up now for this summer, or begin early fundraising for 2011.  Whether you are a beginner or a seasoned mountaineer, the Climb to Fight Breast Cancer offers an experience for everyone.

The Climb changes lives – the lives of those who climb and the lives of those who benefit from the advances in research at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.  Now in our 13th year, the Climb continues to inspire and motivate.  You can make a difference and help eradicate this disease.

Space is still available.  Signing up is easy, just visit www.fhcrc.org/climb or email cfbc@fhcrc.org.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Becca permalink
    February 10, 2010 6:06 pm

    Great blog … so stoked for this year’s climb season!!

Leave a Reply

