Skip to content

Reboot. Recharge. Renew.

November 27, 2012

Thankful for majestic mountains like Denali. Photo by Kristen Burrows.

REBOOT. Sometimes a change of scenery serves as a reminder of all that is beautiful close to home.  This time of year, while anticipating the winter months on tomorrow’s horizon, it’s pleasant to take in a change of pace.

Last weekend I had the privilege of visiting one of the world’s truly tranquil and peaceful corners.  I forgot about the mountains I’ll climb and the planning I’ll do to ring in the 2013 climb season.  Frankly, I forgot about everything other than the waves in front of me for a couple of days.

I get used to the geography outside my own front door.  While I never tire of seeing Mt. Rainier sparkling on my commute to Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, seeing its command over the landscape as my plane approached SeaTac airport felt like a giant welcome home banner.

RECHARGE.  I don’t mind hanging up my gear at the end of each season.  As the year progresses, I welcome the adventures in front of me.  The end of climbing season marks the beginning of ski season.  By the time I store my snowboard for the winter, I’m dying to put some mileage on the tread of my hiking boots.

My passion for the mountains is renewed when I step away and admire another viewpoint.  I’m reminded of the future mountains I have yet to climb, and the many footsteps it will take to get me there.

RENEW. During this month of Thanksgiving, I think on the blessings and tribulations of the past year.  I’m thankful for all of you.  Friends who have inspired me, colleagues who tirelessly pursue a cure for cancer, and supporters who donate dollars to fund critical life-saving research.

To speak gratitude is courteous and pleasant, to enact gratitude is generous and noble, but to live gratitude is to touch Heaven. – Johannes A. Gaertner

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

